Election ’09: Next, October 6

08.26.2009 by AndrĂ© Natta · → 1 Comment

Read Offline:

Last night’s municipal elections were somewhat anti-climatic, though approximately 20% of registered voters turned out. When the dust settled, four of Birmingham’s City Council seats were decided last night, leaving ten people to prepare to battle it out for the next few weeks until the runoff elections are held on October 6.

Lashunda Scales will take over representing District 1, while Valerie Abbott, Maxine Parker and Steven Hoyt all won re-election without a runoff. Bhamwiki has compiled a detailed list of results from both sets of races last night.

The folks after the jump will be the ones that have to convince voters to return to the polls.

Here are the candidates that will be participating in runoffs in October.

District 2:

Carol Duncan (I)
Kim Rafferty

District 5:

Johnathan Austin (I)
Elias Hendricks

District 6:

Carole Smitherman (I)
Sheila Tyson

District 7:

Jay Roberson
Ernestine Guest Williams

District 9:

Roderick Royal (I)
Leroy Bandy

Read Offline:

Filed under: Election '09